Worship

20121130-104909.jpg

Too bad I’m not a good photographer, but I am so grateful I have this photo. A few weeks ago, I went to a conference put on by my dear (and slightly offbeat) friends from The Youth Cartel. The conference was called The Summit, and it was by far the BEST youth conference I have attended. In fact, it was so good that I am still processing some of what I learned. I’ll post that in snippets, as each moment becomes more developed in my mind.

At the conference, the band who played for the worship was called the Chris Coleman Band. Great music, perfect song selections for a few hundred youth workers. I have to admit that I don’t even remember what song it was (not the one in the photograph, or that would have taken me out of the experience!) when this amazing moment occurred, but here’s what happened.

Band singing. Hundreds of Youth Workers in worship. A sudden sense that during this moment, nothing else mattered. Not tomorrow, not plans, not worries or even joys. The only thing that mattered was worshipping our God, free from any sort of distractions or interruptions.

Out of nowhere (or somewhere) this thought came to me. “This is what Heaven will be like. Infinite. Glorious. Free. Being so true to the moment that all you can do is worship.

What a gift. Thank you to those who were there, those who made it happen, and those who were in that moment of worship. It was truly spectacular.

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment